## ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

To the students themselves, words cannot express how proud I am of you and how grateful I am that you have each stayed the course through some difficult tasks I've given you. You have each won my respect, and I wish you the best of luck in your future, in whatever kind of lion you choose to become. Thank you for some great times and for teaching me more than I could ever teach you.

To Gail Upham, cofounder of the Beaverhill Players and of the Junior Players program, thank you for your tireless efforts in keeping it all running, taking care of details that make the all the difference and the million things that must be done in order to make it all run smoothly, and for your valuable perspective and encouragement. I may have been the principal instructor this year but I'm not the one who keeps it all going, you are.

To Lorraine and Treva for your hard work and late hours making these amazing costumes. What an unexpected and wonderful gift you've provided us with to help create the world we share with the audience.

To Lucy Upham, you didn't have to help out every Monday but you did, and I thank you. Thanks also to Crystal Tweedy Hedeman for your help and support.

To Dave Maruszeczka, for designing the lighting and spending the time here to do so.

To all the parents and other volunteers that we don't have room to list, you know who you are and so do we, and your contribution to the success of this program cannot be overestimated. Thank you.

To the Village of Holden for donating the printing of these programs, and to Trevor Hadley of Union Graphics for the t-shirts.

The Beaverhill Players is registered non-profit organization, an amateur theatrical group from Holden which does two plays a year in addition to running the Junior Players program. It is run solely by volunteers.

WELCOME TO THE 3RD ANNUAL Beaverhill Players CHILDREN'S THEATRE SHOWCASE



Beaver Regional Arts Centre

Holden, AB

April 19 & 20, 2013

VISIT US AT WWW.BEAVERHILLPLAYERS.COM

## HELLO AND WELCOME TO OUR JUNIOR PLAYERS' SHOWCASE

What a wonderful experience the last eight months has been! I am humbled and grateful to have had the chance to get together with this fun and talented group every Monday night. They have all put their heart and soul into this class, and along the way I have asked them to do some very difficult work. Without exception they rose to the challenge, and we hope you enjoy the results of their spirit and dedication. – Roger

## PART 1

-THE TIME WARP! (AGAIN)--INTRODUCTION--IMPROVISATION--MONO & DUOLOGUES BY: REBECCA HELLEKSON JOSH HRABEC & LUCAS OSLUND -DEBATING CHAMPIONSHIPS--WHAT CRIME IS IT?-

-INTERMISSION (15 MINUTES)-

PART 2

PIE-RATS OF THE CAROB BEAN WRITTEN AND DIRECTED BY ROGER HARRISON

Many years ago, a crime of dastardly deception was perpetrated by the greedy Captain Sobey. A cocoa bean farmer and part-time pirate, Sobey substituted carob for real chocolate in a pie that Captain Black Jack Macaroon's crew had bought with fair gold. In doing so she brought a curse upon all her crew and her hapless accomplice, Dibbs. When Jack wakes up into the dream of being a pirate captain, he is none other than the only one who can lift the curse.

Is Sobey really a rascal? Is Diablo fated forever to hang out with Pegleg, Bloodhound and Strega? Is Lizze wearing the Pirate of the Year medallion, and will she get her man? Is Silent Sam silent at all? Will Commodore Nummington's crew get very far with that hole Sobey drilled in the bottom of the *Malteser*?

## PIE-RATS OF THE CAROB BEAN

Cast (in order of appearance)

Captain Black Jack Macaroon - Jordan Piekema

CAPTAIN JACK'S CREW: Silent Sam — Tony Shin Blackheart — Sam Fairless Touché — Josh Hrabec Gunpowder Bob — Cory Giebelhaus

Lizzie Duckling – Jill Janzen Dibbs – Colin Woodall

CAPTAIN SOBEY'S CREW: Strega — Kacie Tkaczyk Pegleg — Isaiah Berube Bloodhound — Mark Williams Diablo — Evan Fike

Captain Sobey — Lucy Upham William — Devon Piekema Commodore Nummington — Rebecca Hellekson

NUMMINGTON'S MARINE CORPS: Officer Adam Baum — T-Jay Herbert Officer Anna Conda — Tyra Berube Officer Barb Dwyre — Tianna Ligard Officer Marsha Mellow — Stephanie Berube Officer Howie Doohan — Lucas Oslund Officer Jim Shorts — Logan Oslund

TOWNSPEOPLE: Anna Prentice – Cassidy Flores Biff Wellington – Matthew Hrabec

Alice – Katie Hrabec

Produced by Roger Harrison Assistant Producer — Gail Upham Assistant Director — Gail Upham Costumes & Wardrobe — Lorraine Williams — Treva Piekema Lighting & Sound Design — Dave Maruszeczka